Life Begins at 60!

I’ve been contemplating this for a while, as you can deduce seeing that I turned 62 in September.  I want to let the world know, life can begin again at 60!

I started my sixties in a somewhat dark place.  I was depressed, but still able to function.  A little background.  In 2009, my father passed away.  He just gave up and quit eating and drinking.  I was able to get him to eat a little bit and drink a little water, but it wasn’t enough.  My father passed away one day before my parents’ 59th wedding anniversary.  It was also four days before my son graduated from high school.

I had to keep it together for my mother and my son.  I knew there would be consequences since I never had a chance to grieve, but you do what you have to do.  Fast forward to 2014 and I was functionally depressed.  Before my father died, I weighed 143 and I was in good physical shape.  On my 60th birthday, I weighed close to 170, if not that.  Needless to say, I don’t have a record of my weight then.

I did have an old friend come into my work.  I’m a cashier at a large home improvement store.  He’s a handyman.  I met him when I was 20 and even though we had our fun, I didn’t really like a lot of things about him.  You know how it is.  He was a definite bad boy.

Fast forward forty years and he’s still a “bad boy”, but he’s changed a lot. I pretty much brushed him off and avoided him until I got a letter from the city telling me to make some repairs on my house.  Next time I saw my friend was just before the deadline.  I told him my problem and he said, “You do know I’m a handyman”.  I said yes, that was why I was telling him.  He agreed to come look at my house to see what he could do.  He then asked me if I was going to pay him.  I said, of course, I wouldn’t expect him to work for free.

It was while he was working on the house that I found out how much he had changed.  I would have to say that that was the beginning of my own transformation.

 

About sandykmac

I'm the mother of three boys and the grandmother to a grandson and a granddaughter. I've discovered that life is much more fun after 60 and I'd like to share some of my discoveries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life Begins at 60!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

